Tempo in Paris

My friend Liz sent this today:  It’s the birthday of Alan Hollinghurst, a writer who said, “The great wisdom for writers, perhaps for everybody, is to come to understand to be at one with their own tempo.”  Happy Birthday, Alan and Jeanette!

Today is my birthday and I’m all about tempo. I’m in Paris and I prefer to take only one big outing per day. I did have a nice walk first thing this morning and captured a heron with my camera. (It could almost be Duke Gardens.)

The big outing was  lunch at the Musee d’Orsay and lots of time sitting in front of few of my favorite impressionist paintings. I especially enjoyed one of Degas’ dancers. How did he get all that light on her collar bones? When I was here two years ago, they let us take pictures in the museum. But not now. So, some you only get the outside of the building (which used to be a train station) and half my piece of chocolate cake. The clock is in the museum, but I took the picture two years ago.

About stokesnet

Jeanette Stokes is a writer, artist, minister, and the Director of the Resource Center for Women and Ministry in the South, located in Durha
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tempo in Paris

  1. Amelia says:

    how simply delightful!

  2. Meredith Emmett says:

    Happy Birthday! Have a deliciously delightful celebration of all this is you. I’m sure glad that you were born in this time.

Leave a Reply

