Earthquake

Just before 2:00 pm yesterday, I heard something rattling in my house. I looked around for a bird pecking on a window and realized a framed childhood picture of my mother was rattling. I had never heard it make a noise before. What was going on?

I listened to see if the AC was on. No. I looked outside to see if the wind was blowing hard. Nope. I listened for a big truck that might be passing. Nothing. I put my hand on the bookcase to stabilize it and could feel the vibration. “We’re having and earthquake,” I thought.

I grabbed the phone and called my geologist friend a mile away. She had felt it also. In about 15 minutes, I looked on the Internet and learned that at 1:58 pm, a 5.8 earthquake hit in western VA. The trimmers were felt from NC to New York.

About stokesnet

Jeanette Stokes is a writer, artist, minister, and the Director of the Resource Center for Women and Ministry in the South, located in Durha
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

