Ride, Sally Ride!

The news of Sally Ride’s death got me thinking about women in math and science. Dr. Ride was a great proponent of girls and women going into math and science. I’ve long felt a personal connection to the first woman astronaut, because we were born on the same day in 1951.

I’m glad to have a degree in mathematics, even though it didn’t stay in a math related field. (Except that theology is a branch of philosophy, which used to be the same as mathematics.) That background made me less afraid of computers when they came along. I remember that I thought I’d write programs for my first desktop model until I figured out how ridiculously complicated that would be.

I spent about an hour at a friend’s house this week helping her get an old address book off one e-mail program and onto a mail system on a new computer. I’m not an expert, but I understand how things worked enough to help. Last weekend I provided phone support to my mother as she learned to turn on her new iPad that she got as a bonus when she bought something else.  She’s 90.

I’m so glad that there are women who are not afraid of math, science, finance, or business. In the last 35 years, I’ve known women accountants, lawyers, doctors, dentists, and architects. Women like Sally Ride helped to break down the myth that women and girls aren’t good at logic, math, and science. For that I say, “Thank you, Sally Ride.”

About stokesnet

Jeanette Stokes is a writer, artist, minister, and the Director of the Resource Center for Women and Ministry in the South, located in Durha
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

